How old do you have to be to take the teen driver's education course?
The teen course is typically for 15 to 17 year olds who want to get the driver's license. If the student is 14 they
may take the classroom portion of the course only and then once they turn 15 they can take the driving portion of the course.
A student who is 18 may take the teen course or the adult course.
What documents will I need to register
for the teen driver's ed course?
will not need any documents to register for the teen driver's ed course.
What does the teen driver's ed course include?
According to Texas law, the teen course must include 32 hours
of classroom instruction and 14 hours of driving instruction.
Are driving lessons included in the teen driver's ed course?
There are seven driving lessons included in the course. The
lessons are 2 hours long. The student will drive for 1 hour and observe another driver for 1 hour.
How long is the teen driver's ed course?
The classroom portion of the course is 16 days and is held Monday
through Thursday for 4 weeks. However during the summer, the classroom portion is held Monday through Friday for 3 weeks
and then one Saturday morning. The driving portion will only be 7 days but is determined by the student's personal
schedule and driving times that are availible. The entire course usually take 3 months to complete. However,
we do not guarantee this.
Will I need insurance coverage while my child is driving with a permit?
Students who drive our vehicles are covered by our insurance. Additional
insurance coverage is not necessary but we advise contacting your insurance company.
documents will I need to get my child's permit?
The DPS office requires the following documents:
1. A DE-964
form provided by Major League
2. An original birth certificate
3. An original social security
4. Verification of Enrollment form provided by student's school
Does Major League get the student's permit
from the DPS office?
service is no longer offered. A parent must take their child to the DPS office to obtain their learner's permit.
When can my child begin their driving lessons?
Once the student receives their learner's permit for the DPS office and has paid their balance
When does the
What time is the course held?
Courses in Terrell are from 5 to 7 pm. Courses in Mesquite are from 4:30 to 6:30 pm or 6:30 to 8:30
Does the permit application
have to be notarized?
The application does not need to be notarized if you are going with
your child to the DPS office. However, if an adult other than a parent or guardian takes them, then it must be signed
by the parent/guardian and notarized.
the student completes the teen driver's ed course, what must be done to obtain a driver's license?
The student must be at least 16 years old and hold their learner's permit for 6 months.
The following documents are required by the DPS office:
Original birth certificate
2. Original social security card
3. Updated Verification of Enrollment Form
4. * Driver's Ed Certificate of Completion
5. * DPS Application
How do I schedule a driving test with
Click the link to below to be direct to the
do you obtain a hardship license?
The Texas DPS office issues hardships.
To apply for a hardship license:
1. You have to
be at least 15 years old and under 18 years old.
2. You have to complete an approved driver education course,
which we offer.
3. You have to complete an application with the DPS, as well as, provide an original
birth certificate, social security card, and VOE from the school you attend
4. You have to pass the driving
5. You have to complete an application and meet the eligibility requirements
6. A parent must
be present and sign an Authorization form
* A hardship license must be renewed every 60 days
* These items are given to the student by Major League Driving School
a question for us? Use the form below, and we'll post the answer right here on this page.